Photo of Christine McCallum

Christine McCallum


Professor/Program Chair

Physical Therapist (PT)

Member Since: 1991

Professional Bio

Christine McCallum, PT, PhD currently serves the APTA Academy of Education as the current Vice President. Christine also serves Walsh University (North Canton, Ohio) as the program chair and full professor of Physical Therapy in the School of Behavioral and Health Sciences, Physical Therapy Program. Prior to this appointment, she served as the Director of Clinical Education at Walsh University for many years. Christine is a lifelong learner, earning her physical therapy degree from Ohio University and her graduate degrees from the University of Akron (higher education administration and curriculum and instructional studies/post-secondary education). Her educational journey also included graduation from the APTA’s Fellowship in Education Leadership. Christine’s teaching focus in clinical education, practice and professional management issues and community health provides her the opportunity to guide student development in career and service pathways. She is a published, grant funded, collaborative education researcher whose passion is to find answers to improve the delivery of physical therapy education and practice. Christine’s professional pathway includes sustained involvement at the at the local, state and national levels in various capacities over the span of her career. These include being a current member of the Educational Leadership Partnership (ELP), past Vice-Chair of the National Consortium of Clinical Education (ACAPT), past Chair of the Ohio-Kentucky Consortium of Physical Therapy and past Chair of the APTA’s Health Policy and Administration Section research committee, past District Co-Chair of the East Central District of the Ohio Physical Therapy Association, past Chair of ACAPT’s Strategic Initiatives Panel on Integrated Clinical Education and Co-Chair of the national collaborative CE-SIG and NCCE Placement Process Task Force.
apta-aoe Logo Physical Therapist (PT)

Special Interest Groups