Congratulations to the 2024 Award Winners

Academy of Education News,

Congratulations to our 2024 Academy of Education Award Winners

Adopt-a-Doc Scholarship

Alicia Flach, PT, DPT, NCS
University of South Carolina

Katherine Dierdre Myers, PT, DPT
North Carolina State University

Jennifer Sharp, PT, DPT, CCS, Board-Certified Cardiovascular & Pulmonary Clinical Specialist
Emory University

Award for Leadership in Education 

Leslie G. Portney, PT, DPT, PhD, FAPTA

Cerasoli Lecture

Peggy Gleeson, PT, PhD


The Distinguished Educator in Physical Therapist Education Award

Carol Beckel, PT, PhD
St. Louis University

 Distinguished Educator in Physical Therapist Assistant Education Award

Jennifer Jewell, PT, DPT, Board Certified Clinical Specialist In Geriatric Physical Therapy


Distinguished Mentor in Residency/Fellowship Education Award

William Behrns, PT DPT

 President's Award

Pamela Levangie, PT, DPT, DSc, FAPTA


Outstanding Clinical Instructor Award

Anna Rubakhina, DPT, PT

Outstanding Site Coordinator for Clinical Education Award

Erica Lynch, PT, DPT, OCS

Feitelberg Journal Founder's Award

“The Experiences of Black Students in Physical Therapy Education in Texas: A Qualitative Study.”

Brittney Duke, PT, DPT

  • Brittney Duke, PT, DPT
  • Andrea Pantoja-Aming, PT, DPT
  • Sarah Alfaro, PT, DPT, WCS
  • Stephanie Williams, PT, DPT
  • Mercia Bakouetila-Martin, PT, DPT
  • Nkechi Mbah, PT, DPT
  • Amy Schoenfeld, PT, DPT
  • Jennifer Hale, PT, DPT, PhD
  • Uchenna Ossaid, PT, DPT

 Stanford Award

“Experiences of Underrepresented Racial Minorities in the Entry-Level Physical Therapy Education Application Process: A Conceptual Framework.”

Melissa Yeung, Ph.D.
Bowling Green State University

Grant Awards

“Why the Variability? Investigating the Optimal Length of Clinical Educational Experiences: A Mixed-Methods Study”

Mitch Wolden, PT, DPT, PhD

“Incidence of Burnout Amongst Doctor of Physical Therapy Faculty: A Feasibility Study”

Liana Wooten, PT, DPT, PhD, CSCS